Feed Stray Cats

I have been participating in a discussion with Ellen Hawley, of Notes from the U.K., about the practice of feeding obnoxious wild animals ( Gulls, cats, bears, gators, etc … ) and the strange attraction that I feel about the idea.  I realized that the idea is nothing new to me:

Feed Stray Cats

I leave backpacks and coolers full of hotdogs and beer for bears in the woods.

I painted this sign in 2003.  It reads:

Feed stay cats.  Allow them to grow and thrive and multiply until they are a formidable presence in the neighborhood.

Feed birds and squirrels in the park. Feed gulls at the beach. Leave backpacks and coolers full of hotdogs and beer for bears in the woods.

I don’t know why I have such a perverse attraction to this idea.  In real life, I would never do it.  But I have this vision of myself as an elderly person sitting on the beach with bags of potato chips and hundreds of swooping ravenous gulls.

Now I have to confess that my wife and I do feed stray cats. I am already halfway to being a weird cat lady.   Ever worse, we know the cats by name.  But we get together with the other weird cat ladies in our neighborhood and get the cats fixed.  So all of them are neutered (Scruffy Ringtail and Sylvester and Jewel and Spikey and Grey Momma and Grey M and Grey F and Jasmine and Dash ).

So I guess that’s all right.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jamie Ray
    Aug 09, 2015 @ 18:23:46

    I’m a sucker for giving money to homeless people who are panhandling. In the winter I’ll also buy them a cup of coffee. I get a lot of hostility from passerby’s for doing this – as if I was putting out food scraps for rats.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  2. Ellen Hawley
    Aug 10, 2015 @ 08:14:30

    I have some friends who lived in the north woods of Minnesota for 18 years, not in a house but in a tent in the summer and a temporary shelter they’d build each winter. They’re both writers and had an old manual typewriter. (This will all connect –bear [no pun intended] with me.) They used to tree the typewriter along with their food to keep the bears from getting at it, but one day they came back to their camp to find the bears had gotten it down and wrecked it–presumably trying to type them a where’s-the-food letter. After that, they left it out for the bears to investigate. But they still kept the food in the trees.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  3. Ellen Hawley
    Aug 10, 2015 @ 10:10:47

    ‘Fraid not. They didn’t have a lot of room in their lives for excess baggage.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Into the Nitty Gritty of a Male of Transgender Experience

 “You cannot control what happens to you, but you can control your attitude toward what happens to you, and in that, you will be mastering change rather than allowing it to master you.”

Gender Diversity at WSU Vancouver

Promoting awareness of gender diversity at WSU Vancouver

The Painted Pear

email: rebeccacaryanderson@gmail.com

non-binary bound

a journey of top surgery for a non-binary body

The Recompiler

a magazine about building better technology, together

recess | city

move toward what moves you.

the ghosts journey

A transparent look in to the (no longer) closeted life of a transgender woman

emilygritz

singing the zyx's until it is natural and accidentally eating the stickers on apples.

letters for les

A genderqueer scamp's letters to the transgender warrior

moon child.

creative blog / fiction and journalism / sophie mcnaughton.

