Mind Purge

Typical Trans* Column Outline

  1. I went to the {bank, restaurant, work, store}.
  2. Where a person that I {know, d0 not know, am married to}.
  3. Called me {she, he, her, his, they, yo, dude, babe, sweety, sir, ma’am, man, honey, hey baby, hey lady, girl, bitch, brother, bro, cxxt, fxxxxt}.
  4. Which caused me to feel {happy, sad, elated, confused, angered, amused, delighted, accepted, defensive, angered, mad, defensive, acknowledged, recognized, invisible, thoughtful}.
  5. But now I am feeling much better.

My intent is to stick to transition related topics here. Recently, though, everything that I think of writing seems to follow the above formula. Being a naturally scattered person, this week I am going to write about a bunch of unrelated topics, so that next week I can return with the regularly scheduled programing:

1. Everyone is getting married. Hooray for Marriage Equality.
Two of our best friends were married in New Years Eve.  Last week, in the same day, I ran into a couple of gal friends who got married in November, and a couple of guy friends who are getting married next weekend.
2. I have been making art. I go through periods when my creativity is diverted to other things, but I always return to visual art.

Mr. Imagination Shrine

Shrine To Mr. Imagination

This is my shrine to my friend Mr. Imagination, who died almost three years ago.  We spent some valuable time together, over many years, and I still feel much sadness over his parting.  There is so much in my life to remind me of him.  We traded a lot of art, so I have his work in every room of my house.  Glancing at his art usually stirs off a string of memories.

It is hard  to see in the above photo, but the shrine has a throne room on the left, and a bedroom on the right.

Here is a close up of the bedroom:

Bedroom

Bedroom in Shrine

The whole shrine is made out of a horrendous built-in spice cabinet which I ripped down when I bought the house that I live in now.  There are ritual activities associated with the shrine.  You may have tea with his dolls, or you may flatten bottle caps, for instance (I still find bags of bottle caps that friends had saved for Mr. I).

If you want to see Mr. Imaginations art, the Intuit gallery in Chicago is having a retrospective of his work right now.

More scattered topics soon until we return to trans* related topics!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jamie Ray
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 23:53:03

    I googled Mr. Imagination and got an eyeful (and a lot of bottle caps), and the article mentioned his open studio for community artists, which sounded amazing.
    Personally, I feel that everything that happens in our lives more or less is trans* related – some just more directly than others. Most straight cisgender people don’t scrutinize their interactions at every store/office/cafe and don’t get their knickers in a twist every time they have to pee. And I guess some trans folk who pass flawlessly don’t think about it either, but I think about it a lot.
    A bigger problem is thinking of something interesting or original to say about it, and not to complain too much about other peoples inability to come to grips with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. The Final Rinse
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 11:55:55

    That is true. By reducing this to a pattern, I am poking fun at my self a little bit. In my life, as well, almost everything is trans* related. The fact that these interactions, which are largely out of my control, lead me to have such string feelings is one reason to take a step back and look at how silly it all is. But, it is still there, and I am sure that something else will happen tomorrow in the same vein.
    I think now I have my next post …
    Yes, lots of bottlecaps.

    Like

    Reply

  3. anexactinglife
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 12:08:43

    I think that’s a general outline for most blog posts, trans or not: I was going about my business, this thing happened, I reacted to it, I dealt with/processed it. Interesting what Jamie Ray said – maybe half of all people scrutinize every interaction and half don’t! I don’t mean to devalue the trans experience, though.

    I loove your art! and the ability to interact with it in prescribed ways.

    Like

    Reply

    • The Final Rinse
      Feb 08, 2015 @ 11:11:56

      I think that you might be right about that as a general outline. The thing is that I spend too much energy analyzing these interactions, and that I allow them to effect me emotionally.
      Interacting with the art is partly due to my history as a performer, but is largely the result of years of interaction with a friend who studies art and ritual as a comparative religion scholar. So much of my art has associated rituals with elements for the mind and each of the senses. This piece contains much more of that, because it is intended to be a spot for us to remember Mr. I, and the ways that he impacted our lives.

      Like

      Reply

  4. rimonim
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 17:58:41

    Wow–beautiful shrine.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Into the Nitty Gritty of a Male of Transgender Experience

 “You cannot control what happens to you, but you can control your attitude toward what happens to you, and in that, you will be mastering change rather than allowing it to master you.”

Gender Diversity at WSU Vancouver

Promoting awareness of gender diversity at WSU Vancouver

The Painted Pear

email: rebeccacaryanderson@gmail.com

non-binary bound

a journey of top surgery for a non-binary body

The Recompiler

a magazine about building better technology, together

recess | city

move toward what moves you.

the ghosts journey

A transparent look in to the (no longer) closeted life of a transgender woman

emilygritz

singing the zyx's until it is natural and accidentally eating the stickers on apples.

letters for les

A genderqueer scamp's letters to the transgender warrior

moon child.

fiction and journalism / sophie mcnaughton.

